Book of Mormonisms

Did they really say THAT?

LDS Funerals Plant Seeds of Confusion

Posted by skiutah on Tuesday, June 10, 2008

I recently attended a funeral of a young LDS teenage girl who had died in a car accident. This girl was full of life, athletic, and admired by everybody in the community. The funeral was held at a large Mormon church building. Many non-mormons attended this ceremony.

The funeral lasted for two hours. The young girl’s name was hardly mentioned during the service. Almost nothing was said about her life, who she was, and how much she had accomplished in a few short years.

The LDS bishop high jacked the meeting to expound on Mormon doctrine. Others that spoke focused on sharing that the Latter Day Saint church was true and how Joseph Smith was a prophet of God. They mentioned how this young girl also believed in these LDS teachings, almost implying at times that the young girl should be happy to be dead.

After the meeting my wife was approached by many non-LDS people (because they knew she had once been a Mormon). The non-LDS crowd was bewildered and appalled as to what had just happened. They thought it was creepy and weird that a family would hold a funeral at which there was hardly a word mentioned about the person who had just died. There was no closure.

The LDS people gathered around and congratulated themselves on a beautiful ceremony and how the Mormon seed had been planted in the hearts of so many non-believers.

Post-mortem: I think this is another case of “the emperor’s new clothes”. If the LDS members repeat and tell themselves something enough times, they will eventually believe it to be true.

5 Responses to “LDS Funerals Plant Seeds of Confusion”

  1. coventryrm said

    That last funeral I attended was Christian but not LDS, the first half they showed a slide show of the person’s life they had passed after living a very full and long life. The slide show was a great tribute to this man and his life. That was the first part of the ceremony that middle, end and closing were all about the Preacher using the opportunity to preach Christianity. At one point when the preacher had mentioned over and over again why it was so great to know the man was a Christian and the peace everyone could have with that fact to know he was in Heaven and not that other place I turned to my wife and whispered sarcastically “wow we are totally fucked” however the thing that really struck me as screwed up was the portrayal of this mans life and the revisionist approach that was used to tell the story of Mr G’s life.

    Mr G was married in his twenties and had two children with his first wife. Mr G and his first wife divorced after the Children were grown. Mr G then meant a woman fell in love and they were married for at least 10 years, until she passed away. Mr G then while in a retirement home met and married his 3 rd wife. During this time Mr G’s first wife from whom he was divorced also passed away.

    At the funeral if you didn’t know his history you would have thought Mr G’s first wife passed away and that he was married after her death to wife number 3 there was no mention or acknowledgement that there had been a second wife with whom he was very much in love with and was heartbroken and grief stricken when she passed away

  2. myreligioniskindness said

    A friend of mine lost her 18 yo son unexpectedly. He was a great kid, but saw through the church and didn’t really participate. She was ‘active’, as in showing up on Sundays, but lived a very ‘jack mormon’ lifestyle in many ways, yet her entire extended family practiced. Her bishop wanted to turn the funeral into this kind of missionary opportunity ceremony, telling her that he knew many of this kids friends, non-members, would be there. They wanted to show a slide show, which the bishop initially refused to allow. The mother was thankfully strong enough to stand her ground and honor her heart and told the bishop that the slide show would happen and that she was willing to move the service to another location. The bishop relented, and allowed the family to plan the service, even allowing non-members to speak, with the concession that he be allowed to speak at the end. There were over 1,000 people in attendance. It was a great tribute to the young man, and the bishop’s comments were actually funny to me, and anyone who knew Drew, as he made him out to be a faithful member who had a testimony and stating the usual gospel facts of the POS, etc. Drew was a skater, appearing in many national magazines, with a growing fan base. Apparently, one young man, a friend of Drew, who was not embracing the mormon faith of his parents was in attendance and says he saw Drew skate through the chapel during the service, which this young man took as a sign that the church was true after all and turned his life around to live the gospel again. I found the interpretation fascinating, and only one of several possible meanings.

    I am not sure how my funeral will be. I’m sure my parents and siblings would want me in my temple clothing, with a traditional Mormon ceremony and burial, but they have also been told of my wish to be cremated and more of a wake style gathering. It will be fascinating to see what happens and if they will honor my wishes or let theirs take over.

    I am curious to hear from others who post on this sight, if there was one moment, or event when the ‘mormon bubble’ popped for them, or if it was slowly over time. For me, I had one experience where it popped. In the following months, at times I wanted to return to the safety of ‘the fold’, but find that once the bubble was popped, it’s over for me. No way back.

    I think it is fascinating now, to listen to my Mormon family participate in this sort of “emperor’s new clothes” conversations with each other and sadly look my way as I don’t participate in the discussions, and later ask themselves how I can think he is naked.

    At a recent celebration, a sister in law inquired if I had returned to church yet, and admonished me to do so before my son returns from his mission, reminding me it was because she loved me. I could only say, “I know you do, which is why I choose not to be offended.”

  3. coventryrm said

    VWA

    “I am curious to hear from others who post on this sight, if there was one moment, or event when the ‘mormon bubble’ popped for them, or if it was slowly over time.”

    Instead of high jacking this thread I would recommend you go to exmormon.org where you can have that type of conversation in fact that topic is a regular post on the site.

    You clearly have a misplaced need to express yourself on my blog and to share your knew found “truths”

    I am not trying to be nasty but you should find a more appropriate forum to express yourself.

    http://www.exmormon.org

  4. myreligioniskindness,

    you asked

    ” I am curious to hear from others who post on this sight, if there was one moment, or event when the ‘mormon bubble’ popped for them, or if it was slowly over time.”

    Though I never was a full believer , finding out Joseph Smith put hisface in the hat with a garden stone to translate ( dictate/narrate) the Book OF Mormon was a major turning point …..

    The rest of it came like a flood after that ….

    Result .. I’m a bit of an activist now .I want to get my own back on the LDS cult..

    come on http://www.exmormon.org as CRM suggests ..

    I’ve been to one LDS funeral .It was seemingly OK really , I must admit , there was some pro LDS rhetoric but she was an active TBM though……. ( divorced – so no CK for her or united family ) !

  5. coventryrm said

    Clarification

    If my response to “Myreligioniskindness” seemed harsh or reactive, there is a history behind it. Myreligioniskindness happens to be my Ex-Wife; I have suspected it for quite awhile however her last post made it obvious.

    Without going into detail the history is such that I have constantly had to put boundaries into place, I have chosen for good reason to have minimal contact and only when necessary. I feel it was inappropriate for her to use my blog as a forum or as a way to have interaction with me. She has been blocked, once again setting my boundaries and hopefully she will not attempt to continue on here under another name.

Leave a Reply

 
